Why I’m breaking up with Uber

Grist

I have decided to break up with Uber.

While visiting my hometown of Pittsburgh over Thanksgiving, I made plans to go out to a bar with some high school friends. I wasn’t going to take my parents’ car because, well, vodka and Priuses don’t really mix! My dad asked me how I would be getting home later, and I told him that I’d just call an Uber.

“How can you call yourself a feminist and use Uber? That company doesn’t care about women at all,” my brother-in-law interjected.

I was kind of taken aback, because since moving to Seattle and spending a lot of time getting to and from parts of the city alone, I have become a relentless user of the app. I am physically cringing at this very moment, conceptualizing the hundreds of dollars that have effortlessly flowed from my PayPal account to the vast Uber coffers in…

View original post 918 more words

Leave a Reply

